Gadgets

Do Japanese Gadgets Work Abroad? 20 Tested, 2026

Only three of the twenty gadgets we recommended need a transformer. The wall people miss is the battery: Japan Post carries no lithium cells to the UK by any class of mail. August 2026.

Published
Do Japanese Gadgets Work Abroad? 20 Tested, 2026
What's in this guide9 sections

Quick answer

The voltage problem is real for three products out of twenty. The battery problem is the one that will actually stop your parcel. We went back through the twenty gadgets in our own list and checked the power specification of each one. Three are AC 100V only: the Balmuda kettle at 1,200W, the takoyaki plate at 1,000W and the Panasonic desk lamp at 9.4W. Seven charge over USB at 5V, four take dry cells, five need no power at all: sixteen of twenty work anywhere without a transformer. The trap is the United States, where the plug fits perfectly and the voltage is still wrong, 120V against Japan's 100V. Then there is the wall nobody checks: Japan Post will only carry lithium batteries that are built into the device, up to 20Wh per cell or 100Wh per assembled pack, four cells or two packs per item. And the United Kingdom is excluded from lithium shipments by every class of Japan Post mail (EMS, airmail and surface alike), though a courier such as DHL will still take it. As of August 2026.

Somewhere between deciding you want a Japanese gadget and actually owning one, a doubt arrives: will this thing even work when I get home?

It is a reasonable doubt. Japan runs on 100 volts, which is lower than everywhere else on earth. The reputation that follows from this (that Japanese electronics are a compatibility minefield) is strong enough that people talk themselves out of the purchase.

So we went back through the twenty gadgets we recommended in our own list and read the power specification of every one. The answer is less dramatic than the reputation, and the real obstacle turned out to be somewhere else entirely.

Sixteen of the twenty do not care where you live

Here is the whole list, sorted by what it plugs into.

How it is poweredCountWorks abroad as-is
AC 100V only3❌ needs a step-down transformer
USB charging (5V)7✅ the device itself is universal
Dry cells4
No power at all5
Not stated on the page1

The three that need a transformer are the Balmuda The Pot kettle, the Takoyaki Meister Half plate, and the Panasonic Evangelion desk lamp. Everything else (the pens, the laptop stand, the smart lock, the wearable cooler, the autofocus eyewear, the portable washing machine) either charges over USB at 5V, runs on dry cells, or has no electronics in it whatsoever.

That ratio is the part worth carrying away. Four fifths of a list of Japanese gadgets turned out to be power-agnostic, because the modern default is a USB port and the modern default is 5V everywhere.

Item by item, so you can find the one you were considering:

ProductPricePowerLithium cell inside?
Zenshin all-core pencil$6none
Tombow AirPress pen$13none (air pressure)
Crab noodle ramen timer$19not stated on the pagenot stated
Yazawa sensor light$193 × AAA dry cellsnot stated
Slim hand warmer + power bank$36USB, 10Wyes, 3.7V 5,000mAh
Otonohug white noise machine$38USB rechargeablechemistry not stated
Gakken mini theremin kit$424 × AA dry cellsnot stated
You-Bumi tablet stand$45none
Muro portable washing machine$48USB, 10Wnot stated
Kutsuwa Orista laptop stand$65none
ForeverPen$72none (inkless)
Tanita breath checker$732 × AAA dry cellsnot stated
Recolte cordless blender$85USB, DC 5Vyes, 1,500mAh
Takoyaki Meister Half$91AC 100V, 1,000W
Poketumuri hand iron$110USB, 5V 3A5,200mAh, chemistry not stated
Balmuda The Pot$165AC 100V, 1,200W
Qrio smart lock$2142 × CR123Ayes, non-rechargeable lithium
Sony Reon Pocket 4$243USByes, lithium-ion
Panasonic Evangelion desk lamp$364AC 100V, 9.4W
ViXion01S autofocus eyewear$970USByes, 3.7V 150mAh lithium polymer

Two columns matter and they are not the same column. The Power column decides whether the thing switches on where you live. The Lithium column decides whether it can be posted to you at all, which is the subject of the second half of this article, and the one that catches people out.

The three that do care are not equally bad

“Needs a transformer” reads as a single verdict. It is not.

ProductRated powerWhat a transformer means in practice
Balmuda The Pot1,200WYou need a transformer rated well above 1,200W. That is a heavy box that costs a meaningful fraction of the $165 kettle
Takoyaki Meister Half1,000WSame problem, same order of magnitude
Panasonic desk lamp9.4WA small, cheap converter covers it with room to spare

Both of the kitchen items are heating appliances, and heating appliances draw their full rated power continuously rather than in bursts. Vendors of step-down transformers advise sizing the unit above the appliance’s rated wattage rather than exactly at it: the figures we found were in the region of 1.2 to 1.5 times, though these come from the companies selling the transformers rather than from a standards body, so treat them as a direction and not a rule.

The lamp is the interesting case, because it inverts the intuition. It is the most expensive of the three at $364 and by far the easiest to run abroad, because an LED lamp draws 9.4W. Price does not predict the problem. Heat does.

The United States is the trap, precisely because nothing looks wrong

Most incompatibility announces itself. You arrive home with a British kettle and the plug does not fit the wall, so you stop.

Japan and the United States use the same plug. The International Electrotechnical Commission lists both countries as Type A and Type B, and lists Japan at 100V and the United States at 120V (IEC world plugs). The pins slide in. The appliance runs. It runs 20% over its designed voltage, which shortens its life and, in a heating appliance, does so quickly.

The other countries in our set give you more warning, because the plug itself refuses:

CountryVoltagePlug
Japan100V, 50Hz east / 60Hz westType A / B
United States120VType A / B, the same as Japan
United Kingdom230V, 50Hz (set in law as +10% / −6%)Type G
Canada120VType A / B
Australia230VType I
New Zealand230VType I
Singapore230VType G

The UK figure comes from the legislation itself. For Canada, Australia and Singapore we are relying on the IEC’s country listing rather than each government’s own publication, which we could not reach; see the closing section.

There is also frequency. Japan is split down the middle (50Hz in the east including Tokyo, 60Hz in the west including Osaka), which is why so many Japanese appliances are built to accept both, and why the three AC products above are all marked 50/60Hz. Where frequency does bite is in motors and in anything that keeps time from the mains, which can run slow or fast on the wrong frequency even when the voltage is right.

The wall nobody checks is the battery

Here is what actually stops parcels, and it has nothing to do with volts.

Japan Post will carry lithium batteries in international mail only under a specific set of conditions, published in its own guidance (Japan Post, conditions for sending lithium batteries):

  • The battery must be installed in or built into the equipment. A battery on its own, or packed alongside the device, is not accepted.
  • Lithium-ion: 20 watt-hours or less per cell; 100 watt-hours or less per assembled pack, and the pack must have its watt-hour rating printed on the outside.
  • Lithium metal (the non-rechargeable kind): 1 gram of lithium or less per cell, 2 grams per assembled pack.
  • Quantity: up to four cells, or up to two assembled batteries, per item of mail.
  • Batteries must weigh no more than 5kg in total, be undamaged, and meet the UN Manual of Tests and Criteria section 38.3.

Those conditions are also where the proxy services get their own battery rules. One of them publishes a limit of two lithium batteries per parcel by mail, which is Japan Post’s figure for an assembled battery: what Japan proxies won’t ship puts five of those lists side by side.

Read that list and the sensible reaction is that it sounds restrictive. Japan Post’s own guidance says otherwise, in a sentence worth quoting:

Batteries used for equipment generally distributed in society (mobile phones, digital cameras, video cameras, laptop computers, etc.) are usually compliant with these conditions.

A wearable cooler, a cordless blender, a pair of autofocus glasses, these sit comfortably inside 20Wh. The rule is not aimed at them. It is aimed at loose power banks, which is why a power bank cannot be posted at all while the same cell sealed inside a gadget can.

Button cells get an explicit exemption: installed in equipment, they are not treated as dangerous goods by air, and go by either airmail or surface mail.

Except if you live in the United Kingdom

This is the finding we did not expect.

ZenMarket publishes a list of countries where products containing lithium-ion batteries cannot be shipped by international mail, and states that EMS, airmail and surface mail are all unavailable for them. The list includes Germany, Italy, Spain, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Greece, and the United Kingdom (ZenMarket prohibited items, as of October 2025). Neokyo publishes the same restriction independently, naming the UK in its own list of countries where Japan Post will not carry lithium batteries.

Two services arriving at the same list is decent corroboration. And the practical consequence is narrower than it first sounds: ZenMarket notes that at least one of UPS, FedEx or DHL remains available. A British buyer is not locked out of Japanese electronics. They are locked out of the cheap way of receiving them, which for a $36 hand warmer may amount to the same thing.

This is worth knowing before you pick who ships for you, because the courier options differ from one service to the next. Our comparison of the seven main proxy services sets out which carriers each one offers, and what they charge for them.

For the United States, Australia and Singapore the restriction is milder and applies to surface mail only, airmail and EMS still carry lithium. Canada and New Zealand appear on neither service’s list, which is an absence of a prohibition rather than a published permission.

The USB caveat we cannot resolve

Seven of the twenty charge over USB, and the device side of that is genuinely universal: 5V is 5V in every country.

What we could not establish is the charger. Not one of the twenty product pages states the input voltage of the supplied wall adapter. A device sold in Japan may well ship with a 100V-only adapter even when the device itself is agnostic, and if it does, plugging that adapter into a 120V American socket puts you back in the same position as the kettle, with a much smaller and cheaper thing to lose.

The way around it costs nothing: use your own charger. A USB cable and any charger you already own will run any of the seven. We would rather tell you that than assert something about the adapters that the pages do not say.

FAQ

Will a Japanese kettle work in the US if I just plug it in? It will run, and that is the problem. The plug fits and 120V is 20% above the 1,200W kettle’s designed 100V. Heating elements are the least forgiving category for overvoltage. Use a step-down transformer sized above 1,200W, or buy the kettle at home.

Can I post a Japanese gadget with a battery in it? Usually yes, if the battery is built into the device and stays there. Japan Post’s own guidance says the batteries in ordinary consumer equipment are typically compliant. The exception is the United Kingdom, which is excluded from lithium shipments across every class of Japan Post mail, a courier is the way in.

Can I post a power bank? No. Loose lithium batteries and power banks fail the first condition, which is that the battery must be installed in equipment. This applies regardless of destination.

What about Wi-Fi and Bluetooth gadgets? Japan’s technical conformity mark, giteki, certifies a device against Japanese radio law. It is a statement about use in Japan, made by Japanese regulators. Whether a given device also satisfies your own country’s radio authorisation is a separate question that we have not researched, and one worth checking before buying anything that transmits.

The bottom line

Stop worrying about voltage first. Sort by how the thing is powered, and the question usually dissolves: USB, dry cells and no-power products are the overwhelming majority of what is interesting about Japanese gadgets, and all of them work anywhere. Only mains-powered appliances are in scope for the problem at all.

When it is mains-powered, look at the wattage, not the price. A 9.4W lamp is a trivial transformer. A 1,200W kettle is a heavy and expensive one, and at that point buying the appliance locally is usually the better answer.

If you are in the United States, be more careful rather than less. The plug fitting is not evidence of anything. Every other country in this comparison protects you with a plug that refuses.

And check the battery before you check anything else. It is the constraint that actually determines whether the parcel moves. Built-in is fine; loose is never fine; and if you are in the UK, the post office is closed to you on this and a courier is not.

There is one more question after will it work, what happens when it stops. The manufacturers answer that one in writing, and the answer is bounded by geography: Canon says the warranty is valid only in Japan, and Nikon withdrew its international warranty card in 2021.

That is the same shape we keep finding: with knives and with food, the thing everyone worries about turns out to be manageable, and the thing nobody mentions is where it stops.

What we could not confirm

  • Government-published voltage figures for Canada, Australia and Singapore. We used the IEC’s country listing, which is an international standards body rather than each national authority. The UK figure, by contrast, comes from the legislation itself.
  • How much headroom a transformer really needs. The 1.2–1.5× figures we found come from companies that sell transformers. We found no standards-body guidance, and we found no verifiable source at all for the stricter “3–4× for heating appliances” advice that circulates, so we have not repeated it.
  • The input voltage of the supplied chargers for the seven USB products. No product page states it.
  • The power source of one product (the crab noodle ramen timer), which its page does not describe at all.
  • The battery chemistry of the hand iron and the white noise machine. Both are described as rechargeable; neither page uses the word lithium.
  • Whether the smart lock’s CR123A cells are treated as lithium metal for mailing purposes. They are non-rechargeable lithium, which falls under the gram-based limit rather than the watt-hour one, but we have not confirmed how a carrier classifies this specific product.
  • Whether any of these devices satisfy radio authorisation in your country. We have described what the Japanese mark means and nothing beyond that.